Robocop (2014), a scarier version of the children’s television show I loved.

I finally got Netflix. A few years after everyone else (as usual) but alas, yay me, I have it. I decided to watch José Padilha’s Robocop (2014) as I was interested in exploring the concept of instead of God and Men, what of Robots and Men? As it appears this is the way things appear to be headed, I figured a cool concept would be, what would happen if the robots we, men created, suddenly became our Gods.

robocop6

I chose to discuss a few factors of the film that I loved. In the above image, is a scene towards the end of the film where Robocop played by Joel Kinnaman is in his suit and we have the bad guy behind him, pretty cool. I was fascinated with the suit through out the film, having done some research into the CGI used in the film, I discovered that multiple versions of the suit were created and that CGI was only used where absolutely necessary where scenes were either impossible or just out-right too dangerous. I loved this fact as too many films now days use CGI as the cop out for most of their effects and “we will fix it in post”, is not always the most artistic innovative way to take a movie. So to see CGI being used hand in hand with special effects really can take a movie from being good, to being great.

The head of cinematography outdid themselves in creating a movie with some beautiful shots that encapture the feel of the movie. The use of a real man that not only pulls off the suit really well but it makes it look like he is a part of the suit as well, not just an actor in a suit or a computer generated image being propelled about the screen. making-of-robocop-3

For anyone that has seen this clip of the movie, they would know that it was created brilliantly, his body suddenly gets taken apart and BAM it’s lungs and his oesophagus all up in your face. Gruesome but pretty awesome. I hate blood, I hate watching gross things, I’m basically one of the biggest babies around but this scene, this scene was SO insanely brilliant. I couldn’t pull myself away from watching his trachea move up and down in that tube as he breathed.

All in all, I found the storyline a bit boring and cliché, but the action scenes and the cinematography used were really well done. I was basically mostly impressed that in 2014 both special effects and CGI were being used together and there is still some respect toward the art of movie making left.

Leave a Reply

